Robotics!

Monday morning started off early as we began check-in for 4H camp! At 9 we said goodbye to the campers and sent them on their way with our 4H agent and technician in tow. After bringing back some stuff to the office, I continued to work on a project I began last week.  In two weeks I will be co-teaching a cooking creations class at the YMCA with Jennifer in the next 2 weeks.  In order to prepare for it I have been working on scheduling as well as making recipe booklets for the youth to keep at the end of the week; it includes all the recipes we made during the week so they can make them again at home.

The rest of the week I spent my days at the Richmond Career and Technical Education (CTE) Center with Scott Woodard.  We were supposed to do a 3 long week program with a charter school in Richmond, but due to some issues that fell through.  However, this has opened up some other opportunities to work on some other things such as robots!  At the CTE center I assisted Scott in making various types of “robots” with the kids.  Robots do not have to be mechanized.  As you can see in the pictures below, we began building a marshmallow catapult! We also spent one day in the maker room designing our own city on paper and then making a model version.

We also got the kids engaged by doing some other science by design challenges like building tower out of index cards to hold playdoh.  You can see where one girl built hers; she was the first to finish out of everyone! You can also see the one I built! It was able to hold two things of playdoh.  The only requirement was that our structure had to hold the playdoh without falling and be at least 12 inches tall.  I would also like to point out that only the girls finished their structures

However, on Thursday afternoon I covered for the animal science teacher so that she could go to a meeting.  I had so much fun with those youth. They got really creative on creating their new breed of animal! Once of my all-time favorite activities to do with the youth!

Wednesday evening I went to the Chester Y to do a cooking class with the youth.  The other intern Caitlin helped me out with preparation and reading to the youth.  We learned how to make sweet potato Latkes which are a traditional Hanukkah food commonly eaten in Russia.  After cooking the Latkes and reading the book “Latkes, Latkes, Good to eat!”, we had the youth write a story that told a lesson and had an uncontrollable event as experienced in the book.  They also got to make puppets to tell their story with.

Now Friday is here (TGIF!) and we’re welcoming back the campers and our beloved agents.  We missed them but we can’t wait to hear about all the fun times they had at camp!

Leave a comment